faith / life / photos / relationship

Engagement Story: Sugarloaf Rock

There’s A LOT of backstory to how Andrew and I got engaged.

When we went to American in September I drug him to my most favourite jewelers there and said to him that it would mean a lot to me if he could some how purchase and/or design a ring from them.

He listened to my words.

We were supposed to go away on a weekend trip in February, but then last minute he cancelled on me. I WASN’T amused at all. Come to find out, it was because two of my friends couldn’t make it down for the weekend.

So, we packed up last weekend and headed down to a coast town, Dunsbourgh, and settled into a huge house. We walked around the house and I said to Andrew “wouldn’t this be a perfect place for our friends to stay.” He quietly agreed.

The next morning we headed out for breakfast.

DSC_0003 DSC_0013

Before leaving Andrew had packed us (which I thought was only the two of us) a picnic. In the cooler/eskee he had 10 diet cokes and 6 ciders.

“I don’t think I’ll be drinking 6 ciders today” I said to Andrew
“Well lets just bring them along in case” he quietly suggested.

I had no idea.

We stopped by the bakery and picked up two loaves of bread. Now, I don’t eat much bread and Andrew only eats about half a loaf, because he doesn’t like anything but fresh bread.

I questioned him as to why we had so many loaves of bread, but decided that since it was his weekend to plan away I was just going to go with it. (Which isn’t my normal approach to life, but I decided to kick back and I’m glad that I did)

So we hopped into the car and headed to the location “Sugarloaf Rock”. Now this is a location that we’ve gone to in the past. About 1.5 years ago for a friends wedding. It’s also a location of which I’ve got a picture of it on the wall which as a Christmas present to Andrew on our first Christmas.

We got into the parking lot and hopped out of the car. I was fiddling with my camera lens, because I thought that we were coming to the location so that we could take some landscapes photos. We’re trying to add stuff to our bare walls. We have 12 empty frames from Ikea that need photos in them.

I was standing there fiddling away and then all of the sudden Andrew goes:

“Hey, that looks like TOM!”

I look up and think OMG are Tom and Liz  and John down here this weekend? That’s crazy, because I have 6 other friends who just happen to be down there in Dunsbourgh as well. (Tom and I have known each other for 11 years, he’s the reason I moved to Australia from a professional stand point).

“Hey, look I think it’s Maddie and Nicole” Andrew says full-well-knowing what he’s planned.

Then I got REALLY nervous. Because I knew that he had ambushed me for a reason.

They all get out of the car with HUGE smiles on their faces. They think that we’ve already gotten engaged and that they are coming down to celebrate with us. We hadn’t gotten engaged at all.

Surprise, we’re not engaged yet.

So we walk up to the look-out and Andrew starts to squeeze me really tight. My friends have NO idea that he’s about to propose.

He says some really sweet things and then drops to one knee and says “Michelle, will you marry me?”

“YES! YES! YES!”

The most BEAUTIFUL ring ever he whips out. It’s exactly what I wanted, designed by my hometown jewelers.

DSC_0088

We popped some Moet at the engagement spot and all celebrated.

IMG_1811 IMG_1832 IMG_1837 IMG_1834

So we all had a picnic (hence the bread and ciders and 3 packages of rice crackers and diet cokes) and celebrate.

DSC_0080 DSC_0065 DSC_0055

We drank cider, ordered pizza and crashed at the house. So, I was ambushed for my engagement in front of my closest friends. It was magical and I adore him for being so thoughtful!

Mish xo

6 thoughts on “Engagement Story: Sugarloaf Rock

  1. So very happy for you…I knew that some day there’d be a man who was worthy of you and you worthy of him and each of your knowing your inherent worthiness. Best wishes and sincere congratulations!

  2. I LOVE that story! So very thoughtful of Andrew. You guys are a beautiful couple and will be so happy together! Lots of love from us xxxx

Leave a Reply

