life / nature / photos

28

I’m turning 28 this weekend. I don’t know how I feel about it actually. For many instances, I’ve honestly forgotten about it. I have so much going on right now, that I don’t feel like I can give anything the undivided attention that I needs..that it demands. I’m just dividing the attention I have and hoping that will suffice.

When I was growing up I thought that 28 was the key…age. I don’t think that I’ve even thought about my life past 28. How weird is that? I didn’t have a marked amount of stuff that needed to be completed, just that I thought 28 was the golden age.

Isn’t that when people are supposed to be well into their careers?
Buying a house?
Rescuing a puppy or kitten from the pound?
Planning kids?
Driving their paid-off car around town?

I don’t feel like I’ve missed out on anything in life thus far. I’ve travelled, I’ve explored, I’ve grown into who I am now.

It’s weird though, when you get to a certain point and think “what do I really want?’

For a long time I would equate my validation in the life area, which a career. A ‘cum laude’ after another degree. A plaque on the wall. Whatever. But I have been thinking a lot about what I really want 28 to look like..and to me the only thing that I can summise is…

….personal peace

I have for so long done things for other people. I have aligned myself with jobs that have people constantly demanding at me. I have constantly over-extended myself and I’m over it. This weekend the boy goes to me “you look like you haven’t caught up with sleep in a long time” To which I responded “I haven’t unwound in probably 3 years”.

….personal peace

Bring on 28. It’s my damn year. It’s going to be about enjoying everything that makes me happy and letting life roll along as it may.

~Mish

Leave a Reply

