recipe / relationship

Learning How To Cook For 2 (garlickysmashedchickpeasalad)

When I was a house mom I used to cook for a least 22 people twice a week. It was normal to know how much of everything to buy for that many people.

(this is just snacks, don’t be fooled)

When Andrew and I started dating, I would ALWAYS make way too much food. I remember making three huge stuffed squash for the two of us. We ate one between the two of us. I remember Andrew saying to me “Baby, it’s too much food!”.

For Christmas I got such an amazing cookbook from Andrew: Donna Hay’s Simple Dinner

I wasn’t sure if I’d like the cookbook originally, because I am not a huge cookbook lover. I find that many times the recipes are too fussy, too complicated or just not my thing. However, this cookbook is FABULOUS! I love it! Easy, down-to-earth, crowd pleasing and HEALTHY recipes.

I wanted to make this salad recipe that I saw in the book, with my own added twists.

Garlickly Smashed Chickpea Salad
3-4 serves

1 can of drained chickpeas, smashed
1/3 of red onion, finely cut
1 c. of flat parsley cut up
salt and pepper to taste
1 c. of cherry tomatoes halved
1/4 c. of lemon juice
2 TB. tahini
2 TB. of olive oil
1 TB of garlic paste or fresh garlic

drain chickpeas and smash with a back of a fork


cut up parsley and onion

enjoy fresh picked cherry tomatoes (if you have a garden…like us!)

don’t let the dirt get into it..ha ha ha..I decided to do some wedding.

salt and pepper

mix the the olive oil, garlic, tahini and lemon juice together and dump into the salad

Let it sit for about an hour

Enjoy!

I served my up with protioned out salmon. I rubbed wasabi on one side of my salmon portion and then put seaseme seeds onto it. BBQ-ed on grill…yummy!

Learning how not to cook for 20 has been hard. Having a good cookbook and a willing eater is helpful 🙂

~Mish

 

 

3 thoughts on “Learning How To Cook For 2 (garlickysmashedchickpeasalad)

    • honest to God, that dinner was SO easy and Andrew was like ‘this is fabulous’. Also the salad is great the next day. now even lying.

  1. Pingback: What Happens When You Hit A Wall? « MishMarieG

Leave a Reply

