life

Komen solidified my faith

I think the most interesting thing that has come out of the Susan G Komen meltdown is that in a weird way it has really cleared up my thoughts and relationship with my faith.

I haven’t been to church for over a year. I can’t find a place where I feel like people are warm, accepting, non-judging and real. I’m not saying all Christians are like this, I’m just saying maybe I’m an odd Christian. Maybe my heart isn’t open. I do have amazing friends of all faiths and non-faiths and I adore them. They challenge and love me in my own journey of believing.

But it changes when you have things where people use faith as a reason to deny people basic rights for health care, especially with the politically charged, conservative move of Susan G Komen to pull funding from Planned Parenthood. So many of the supporting comments were about how PP is ‘satan’s bowels’ and the people were going to hell for supporting PP.

I don’t have the final judgement call..all Chrisitans know that.

Support the things you want to. But remember to love, give, serve, and help those who need help. Stop denying in the name of religion, because that’s not what my Jesus would have done.

~Mish

4 thoughts on “Komen solidified my faith

  1. Amen!!! I could never worship a God that would actually want this type of behavior. And I never will. My God is loving, giving and accepting of ALL people.

    You are amazing!

  2. It is for this reason (and a couple of others) that I can not call myself a Christian in the way that it seems to be defined today. I do think Jesus was a great guy…in fact, I think he was truly enlightened. Let me share something with you written by a man named Roy Bourque who recently wrote a book about the merging of science and God:

    “Jesus Christ is declared to be the Son of God or God with us. “Christ” is not his last name, “Christ” is his title. Very few people know what the title signifies.
    Christ is the seventh energy Chakra of Eastern philosophy. It is the highest level achievable by the human mind. It can only be achieved by ascending the spiritual centers of the mind. Many never ascend beyond the animal passions. Many are not even aware that spiritual centers exist.

    Anyone who achieves the level of Christ is said to be one with the forces of creation (or one with the creator). “I and the Father are one” is how Jesus put it. It requires spiritual growth. It cannot be achieved in any other manner. Jesus came to us to reveal the Christ through the outpouring of the Holy Spirit. And he made the ultimate sacrifice to reveal the unquenchable love of God through him.

    To believe in Jesus is not to believe in the person, but rather in what Jesus represented. Christ is the light and love of God working through us. As Jesus put it, he would return to the father where he could pour out the Holy Spirit upon those who believed in him. Light is knowledge of the forces of creation, and love is compassion for one another to use those forces for the common good. Anyone who can embody both of these principles is truly a gifted person. Faith in Christ is part of a spiritual quest, not blind acceptance of some doctrine. It is a spiritual gift given only to those who have diligently sought it out, believing that greater things are possible. Believing in Jesus is only the first step on a journey that leads us back to God.

    Once you have accepted Jesus, then the spirit of Christ begins to work its magic. It starts with self-contemplation, allowing us to see who we really are, and giving us a glimpse into what we are capable of becoming. The more we dwell on these matters, the more we learn to control our actions. We begin to sense the wellspring of living waters that Jesus spoke of. And as these living waters well up inside us, they give us new life. A new person is born, transcended from the old. This is the born-again experience that Jesus refers to; “except a man be born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God”. Until the mind can perceive what is possible, we can do nothing to bring it about. That is the mystery of the Christ”

  3. I believe in giving back & being generous. Christ called the Church to do that. I just don’t think it is the government’s job to do so. The War on Poverty was the beginning of social services/// background: prior to that rates of poverty were going down, thanks to Johnson’s program, it has been on the rise ever since.

    Feel free to disagree.

    People need more than handouts. People need the momentum to change.

    Christ is the anglicized version of the Greek term Χριστός (Khristós) meaning “the anointed one”. This word was used to translate the Hebrew מָשִׁיחַ (Māšîaḥ), usually transliterated into English as Messiah or Mashiach.

    The word is used as a title, hence its common reciprocal use Christ Jesus, meaning “The Messiah Jesus”.

Leave a Reply

