food recovery / life / relationship

Hibernation

I have tried to write a post on this blog for months.

I just felt zapped for words.

Something has switched inside of me this week. I’m not sure what it is. Perhaps a reflection of why whole being. The type where you honestly stand back and evaluate how you manage through life, how you interact with other people, how you carry yourself.

Why food has its grip, why food doesn’t have its grip, why walks in the crisp air feel fabulous.

The point being..that we all have hibernations.

Bears do it every single winter. A time to rest and move onto something new when the light appears and the inclination rouses us to get up and move into a new season. There’s A LOT of pressure put upon people to BE somewhere other than they are. Looking back upon my life I think that I’ve been in a hibernation for about three years.

I had to.

After flogging myself to lose weight, I had NOTHING else to give. I lost myself.

I’m a huge proponent of the idea that extra weight, or lack there of, is a message..a teaching moment..a blessing.

I just haven’t realised it until now. I haven’t looked at the weight I’ve gained in the past three + years as a blessing, as a sign of a much-needed hibernation. Making peace..bears do.

The point is, is that you have to just be where you are. I think that’s the only place where coming out of a hibernation can actually begin.

In some ways I feel totally renewed. I feel at peace, but I’ve just acknowledged where I am and am becoming an active observer, instead of a hater/avoider/punisher of who I am at times.

So, if you’re hibernating…be where you are. There are blessings, lessons and A LOT of grace in that place.

~Mish

3 thoughts on “Hibernation

  1. I came to the same conclusion (regained weight as gift) back in 2009 when I’d put on half the weight I’d lost in 2005-06. And I love the hibernation analogy, because it really does fit. Thanks for this…

    • It works for me. It feels like it takes the pressure off. It gives the space and time to just be where we are…that’s magical when we find that space.

  2. Pingback: The 4 Steps to Letting Go of Negative Thoughts « MishMarieG

Leave a Reply

