food recovery / life

Challenges Are Gifts?

I remember when I was working as a house mom and we had our whole entire kitchen roof almost collapse in during a major rain storm. The water poured out of the ceiling. Gushed.

There was NOTHING I could do….but start moving five fridges and a metal kitchen island onto the carpet in the other room. I didn’t have time to panic. Didn’t have time to run away. Just had to be where I was and deal.

I think the same thing applies to life.

I am where I am.

There isn’t much more you can do with life, except to accept where you are and then decide to move from there or sit with it. For so long the idea of sitting where I was/am and/or moving from that place was just.too.much. I retreated into old habits of dieting or binging…hating or loving…being healthy or casting it to the wind. Abusive cycles.

I felt alone. Tired.

I do believe, holistically, that is become infinity easier if we have some sort of connection to something outside of ourselves. That be God, nature, Allah, Muhammad…I don’t really care. What I care about is nurturing the spiritual being, finding strength in something that gives us power to move forward, move beyond, see something we haven’t seen before, take a new road, push farther, be more patient.

The journey in our lives, especially those who have dealt with food woes, is hard at best. We are constantly entrenched with feelings, at times, of complete defeat, obsession and failure…if we let ourselves.

Consider it a sheer gift, friends, where tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and it shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you can become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way. James 1:2-4

Looking at life and it’s challenges as a complete gift…show me where I’m supposed to be…instead of being trapped… is pretty damn empowering.

~Michelle

Leave a Reply

