faith / food recovery / life / relationship

One and Only

I remember when I first heard of Adele. My dear friend Bekky told me that I HAD to listen to her..on repeat..forever.

And I did.

I adore Adele.

One of my most favourite songs that she sings is ‘One and Only

 You’ve been on my mind, I grow fonder every day Lose myself in time just thinking of your face God only knows why it’s taken me so long to let my doubts go You’re the only one that I want

There has to be, something so much more than anything than just food, recipes and complaining. Feeling trapped with my issues with food. That is NOT how I want to live my life.

I have thought a lot about my faith life. For three years I’ve basically ran away from any faith, with intermittent spurts of revival, to be so put off by my Church experience that I’ve closed my Bible and just let it be where it was.

Doing life on my own.

Then I came across shereadstruth. I would say it was instant.

It felt pure, natural, honest, my own relationship. Life changing.

I felt free in the word. I also felt as though I could just be my own liberal-minded, cussing too much, diet coke drinking, imperfect self. Just be me, with my God, with my own developing understanding of faith.

I hesitated for ages in writing this post, because I KNOW that people will stop reading my blog because I am going to sprinkle it with faith. I can hear the nay-sayers and that’s cool.

BUT

What I think it breeds is something a lot bigger question of “how and/or what do you connect with?”

That’s what changed for me. I don’t know if we can do it totally on our own. If that connection comes from faith, spirituality, nature, etc…I think that we are meant to be with something bigger, grander…that us.

so be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs. // God’s strong hand is on you, he’ll promote you are the right time. // Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you. ~ 1Peter5:6-7

~Mish

4 thoughts on “One and Only

  1. Pingback: no.questions.asked « MishMarieG

Leave a Reply

