dairy free / gluten free / life / photos / recipe

Six Days Off

I have had the fortunate scheduling from work with six days in a row off . I needed it, my back needed it, my being needed it, the floors in my house needed it, the laundry needed it.

Being the American that I am, my focus for much of my recent adult life has been work. Advancing my career. Obtaining degrees. Proving that I am educated, smart, hard-working, debt-paying-off, modern woman.

I’m been working my arse off. Went back to uni at 26, full-time, worked full-time-ish, and completed a nursing degree in two years. Am about to finish my graduate year, survived five rotations…now to start a brand-new critical care ward.

I’m tired.

Six days off has been fabulous. 2013 has bred in me the ability to saying “NO” more often and commitment to things that I actually want to do in my life. Like bringing myself back to the basics, the things which make my heart happy, which bring me complete and utter joy.

I love garden-to-plate

IMG_2774 IMG_2775 IMG_2776 IMG_2778 IMG_2784 DSC_0323

1 onion diced, 4 cloves garlic pressed, 1 jalapeno with seeds finely diced + 1TB olive olive and butter
6-8 c. of fresh tomatoes (can be cherry or chunked big ones)
2 gigantic handfuls of basil, cut up
salt to taste

in a large sauce pan, heat over medium, olive oil and butter.
add onions, garlic and jalapeno, saute
add tomatoes, cover, simmer for about 2-3 hours
Add basil at end. Salt to taste

This sauce is meant to be a base for either pasta sauce or thickened for pizza bases. I’m going to freeze mine and use another day and modify, change, add according to what I want to use it for.

——

I love carrying a warm pie over to a friends house for dinner. Walking around their property marveling at how much I need and desire to be in open beautiful space. Listening to the wind whistle through the trees, being part of a modified badmitten game, listening to the stories of their lives.

IMG_2780

IMG_2782

Giving to things which I know are important. Because I realise that frankly we’re all in this together, right?

IMG_2772

I’ve gotten myself to gym classes, long walks, clean floors, and wedded flower-beds. What it reminds me of is the important of balance. The ability to give back to things and those you love outside of work. Work is important, but it’s not the whole being of any of us. These six days have been so needed and cherished.

Mish xo

5 thoughts on “Six Days Off

    • The first couple of times saying NO is hard, then you relish in the satisfaction of self-care. It’s quite liberating. I still have to say my strategy out loud to friends, as a reminder of what I really want.

      • It’s really hard to help and take care of other people if we don’t take care of ourselves first. That’s great you have friends who will help you with it!

      • It is. One of my friends at work said to me “Don’t ever give so much of yourself that you don’t have time for yourself and those who you love.” That comment was a life-changer for me.

Leave a Reply

