faith / life

Algorithms of Dreams

I’m in WAY over my head with the Advance Life Support training handbook. People it’s 250 pages of WORST CASE SCENARIO if someone crashes…WHAT ARE YOU GONNA’ DO?

Photo on 2013-04-16 at 14.23

Then it’s a whole bunch of multiple choice pre-training questions with ECG strips and one obvious answer that I can’t seem to find.

Geeze people, I’m telling ya…love those people are trained with all of this stuff. I get now why people nerd out over medication administration, crazy ECGs and successfully exhausting recuses. It’s an adrenaline thing…speaking of which you give 1mg IV bolus after 2nd round of defib…unless…oh nevermind.

Photo on 2013-04-16 at 14.23 #2

But what it reminds me is something that is always swirling around in my head…my deep yanking desire to go overseas as a nurse. In fact it’s one of the major reasons why I became a nurse. I didn’t really care about much else, but the prospect of working overseas and providing medical care (which I believe to be a basic human right) to people.

So, I’m casting into the world, to the universe, to be put into God’s hands…I wanna go overseas. Are you listening God? This is my heart’s desire and quite frankly it’s what I’ve worked so long and hard for. Sometimes you just have to cast your dreams into the wind and someone will grab them, move you to where you need to be, and bring you to where you’ve meant to be placed.

So I wanna go to Timor. Headed off to update my resume and send a blind cold-call e-mail to someone I’ve never met. God lead me to where I’m suppose to be in this.

Until then, I’m gonna memorise the algorithms for every kinda cardiac and non-cardiac related crash.

Photo on 2013-04-16 at 14.34 #2

Life is a bit like an algorithm and when things are absolutely important to you…sometimes it takes a couple of rounds to get what you want…the breath of life that you’ve always wanted. So don’t give up.

Mish xo

Leave a Reply

