faith / life / photos / relationship

Engagement Party

We trekked to Wallaroo, South Australia for our engagement party.

IMG_3337 IMG_3341

It was such an good experience for me. It’s a blending of cultures, it’s a blending of families. I’m finding my own feet in the new role that I play as the ‘future-daughter-in-law’. It was weird to hear that, oddly comforting, and yet foreign. Looked over recipes, talked old stories, made new ones together.

IMG_3344 IMG_3346

We spent time with Andrew’s family over lunch, a deeply precious time with his grandparents. The cups of tea, crackers with smidgens of margarine and pieces of cheese. Precious reminiscing. Moments that are engrained in my head.

IMG_3378

The gobs of people who have shaped Andrew’s life. His dear family friends, his family, his friends. His life before me. Our life together. Toasts with champagne, teary eyes thinking of his late Dad smiling down upon us.

IMG_3374 IMG_3376 IMG_3372 IMG_3371 IMG_3370 IMG_3368IMG_3386

It brings up so much emotion for me. I’m grateful. I’m sad that my family couldn’t be there. Couldn’t share the experience with us, they’ll have to connect to it via Facebook albums and my own interpretations via Skype.

But what it digs up is the deeper sense of who we are as a couple and individuals within that context.

The funny thing is, I’ve spent my whole existence trying to find a place to settle down, people to settle down with, and a spirit about me worthy of all this settled down-ness. All of this is good. A contented heart, thankful for its blessings, is a good way to settle. ~”Made to Crave Devotional” Lysa Terkeurst

And as I set out to write Thank You cards to everyone who have been incredibly generous with their time and giving…it becomes apparent that there is so much love out there. God, has poured love into my life…and my own ability to soak that up is my own journey. God has poured love into our relationship.IMG_3384
IMG_3390

I’m just grateful.

IMG_3363

Mish xo

4 thoughts on “Engagement Party

Leave a Reply

