dairy free / gluten free / paleo / recipe

Amaz-Meat-balls #paleo

When I eat gluten I become a hot emotional bit–y mess.

Ask Andrew. He’ll agree and then sneakily say “are you sure it’s just the gluten?”

Cheeky bugger!

Anyways, I have thought A LOT about what foods do to me and what foods keep me on the straight and narrow in life. Foods that keep me out of the wine bottles, chocolate and drive thru for a McDonalds cones….

Paleo

Now I know that people harp on Paleo as a fad ‘diet’ etc. Which is fine. I don’t care. I still drink diet coke. I consider diet coke Paleo. We’ve talked about this before..remember?

So I thought…well I want meatballs. I grew up on Costco meatballs. Either in a creamy strogonoff sauce or the cocktail meatballs at potlucks or Superbowl games.

I’d rather just make my own.

I decided that I’d look up some Paleo Meatballs and mish-mashed them together to make these amazing meatballs. People, there are so amazing, they’re so yummy. Simple flavours but fabulous.

Amaz-Meat-Balls with Zucchini Noodles~3-4 serves (meatballs)
1 serve noodles

IMG_3510

500gm/1lb ground beef (mine was lowfat)
1 egg
1/4 of large onion, finely diced
1/2 red chili, de-seeded and finely diced
1/4 c. of almond flour
salt/pepper to tasteItalian herbs (you can use dried. I used a small handful of fresh basil, 2 sprigs of oregano and small bunch of tarragon)

1 TB EVOO and 1 TB ghee
Paleo approved marinara sauce

1 zucchini

—–

Mix everything together. Let it sit for about 1/2 hour (if you have time)

IMG_3503

Shape into balls

IMG_3504

In a large frying pan melt on high heat EVOO and ghee. Place meatballs in the pan and let fry until you can see the the meatballs are cooking at least 1/2 way up the side to the top. Flip carefully with tongs.

IMG_3505

Still over high heat let meatballs cook for about another 2-3 minutes. I then spooned off about 1ish TB of the grease from the pan and placed it in a wok for the noodles.

IMG_3507

Place marinara sauce over the meatballs and reduce to a medium heat, cover and let cook while getting the noodles ready.

IMG_3508

Use a vegetable peeler to thinly julienne the zucchini into strips. I place them on a paper towel for about 10 minutes to extract the extra water.

IMG_3509

Heat oil in wok. Add noddles and a pinch of salt. Saute until soft.

Serve yourself up some amaz-balls over noodles.

IMG_3512

The simplicity of flavours is amazing and I’m in love with this recipe.

IMG_3513 IMG_3515

Promise that you won’t miss cheese and/or noodles. But you maybe sad when you’ve got nothin’ left in your bowl.

Enjoy!

Mish xo

2 thoughts on “Amaz-Meat-balls #paleo

    • Let me know how they go. Just when turning, be a bit gentle…some of my fell a tinge bit a apart that’s why it’s good to them then brown 1/2 way up so there a bit more solid. They’re so yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

